Association for Molecular Pathology announces 2018aAward recipients

ROCKVILLE, Md. – August 22, 2018 – The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP), the premier global, molecular diagnostics professional society, today announced the recipients of this year’s Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics, Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award and Meritorious Service Award. These prestigious accolades will be presented in November during the AMP 2018 Annual Meeting & Expo in San Antonio, Texas.

Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics

Jonathan M. Rothberg, PhD

Founder, Chairman, and CEO of Butterfly Network, Inc., Guilford, CT, USA

Dr. Rothberg will receive AMP’s highest honor for his groundbreaking work and noteworthy achievements in genomics. He is the founder of multiple life science and medical device companies including CuraGen, 454 Life Sciences, Ion Torrent, RainDance Technologies, Hyperfine Research, Quantum-Si, Lam Therapeutics, and Butterfly Network. With Butterfly Network, Dr. Rothberg aims to democratize medical imaging with the world’s lowest cost ($2k) and first whole-body scanner. He is best known for inventing massively parallel (Next-generation) DNA sequencing. When the technology was brought to market in 2008, it became the first new way to sequence genomes since Sanger and Gilbert won the Nobel Prize for their method in 1980. Among his many honors, Dr. Rothberg is a recipient


Article originally posted at

Click here for the full story

CategoryAggregator News

Privacy Policy / Terms Of Use

Powered by MMD