Eureka Alert

Bethesda, MD (Feb. 22, 2018) — The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) has announced the 2018 recipients of the annual recognition awards, given in honor of outstanding contributions and achievements in gastroenterology.

“The AGA Recognition Awards provide an opportunity for AGA members to honor their colleagues and peers for outstanding contributions to the field of gastroenterology,” said Sheila E. Crowe, MD, AGAF, president of the AGA Institute. “This year’s AGA Recognition Prize winners are just a few of the notable and talented members who help make AGA such an accomplished organization. We are honored that such esteemed and accomplished individuals are representative of AGA.”

The AGA Recognition Awards will be presented during Digestive Disease Week® 2018, June 2-5, 2018, in Washington, D.C.

Julius Friedenwald Medal

AGA bequeaths its highest honor, the Julius Friedenwald Medal, to Loren A. Laine, MD, AGAF, for his incredible contributions to the field of gastroenterology and AGA over several decades. The Julius Friedenwald Medal, presented annually since 1941, recognizes a physician for lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology.

Dr. Laine is known worldwide for his clinical research achievements, his role as an educator, and his decades of AGA leadership, including three separate terms on the AGA Governing Board and as AGA


Article originally posted at

Click here for the full story

CategoryAggregator News

Privacy Policy / Terms Of Use

Powered by MMD